So, what is 'hacking'?

Off-topic posts go in here; this forum is only loosely moderated.

So, what is 'hacking'?

Unread postby Calcifer » 5th February, 2018, 11:03 am

Oh we've all seen it in media. Many of us are familiar with The Matrix, Wargames, Mr. Robot, Hackers, etc so we all have a vague idea of what hacking is on the surface.

First of all - I can tell you what it isn't. It isn't two people typing on a keyboard at once a la NCIS:

Nor is it uploading a virus that was embedded in a fractal in a bone that set your computer's maximum temperature to 1000 degrees and set it on fire. (In Bones, unfortunately I couldn't find a video)

Oh, and who can forget the 'I know this, it's a UNIX system!' from Jurassic Park?

The term gets thrown around a lot too, people who 'hack' other's Facebook by borrowing their phone and that kinda thing. As a computer scientist, I do find it a little bit annoying so I thought I'd give a crash course on exactly what hacking is!

Warning: Some small amount of code ahead

Hacking at its very core is making a computer do something it shouldn't, in order to gain access to something you shouldn't, in order for you to do something you shouldn't. Sometimes it's to deface a website, steal information, crash servers, or to distribute a virus to disable a countries nuclear program. The question you may ask is how exactly do they do this?

First you tend to start off with information gathering. You'll poke around on a system, see what's installed and what versions. If people haven't kept things up to date then boom, possible exploit. Even if they are up to date, if the programs aren't set up correctly then they can be tricked into doing some odd things. It's hard to explain quite how this works without an example, so that's exactly what I'll do!

-----------------------------PART 1: SQL and you-----------------------------